Defensive Driving/Deferred Disposition
Drivers Safety Course
Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may request that one charge against you be dismissed by taking a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course.
HOWEVER, YOU WILL LOSE THIS OPTION IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST IT IN PERSON OR IN WRITING BY YOUR APPEARANCE DATE AS SHOWN ON YOUR CITATION. THE COURT DOES NOT ACCEPT A TELEPHONE CALL AS AN APPEARANCE BEFORE COURT. This option is available if you hold a valid Texas Drivers License or permit (except a commercial drivers license) and show proof of financial responsibility. Additionally, if you are charged with speeding 25 MPH or more above the posted limit, have used this option within the last 12 month period to dismiss a charge, or are charged for a violation occurring in a work zone with workers present, you are not eligible. If you wish to use this option to have this citation dismissed, complete the request form and return it to the Court with the required fee and proof of insurance on or before your appearance date. You have 90 days from date of request to provide the Court with required documentation showing successful completion of an approved Driving Safety Course.
There is a $109.00 court cost fee that is paid to the Municipal Court when a drivers safety class is requested. Defendants are required to find their own class, and are required to attend a driving safety course approved by the Department of Public Safety
or the Texas Education Agency (class must be state certified). The Municipal Court does not offer drivers safety classes. You are required to take the course within 90 days from the date of the request. If you do not, the court will send you a notice requiring you to return to court and explain why you failed to show proof of completion. Your failure to be present at that hearing may result in a warrant for your arrest being issued.
Probation of Deferred Disposition
If you plea guilty or no contest you may request deferred disposition. Conditions to be eligible for deferred disposition are as follows:
- Traffic Only Offenses (Non-Accident Offenses)
- You cannot hold a Commercial Driver’s License
Contact the Municipal Court to find out if you qualify and to confirm the amount you owe.
There is a $50.00 additional court cost fee that is paid to the Municipal Court when a Deferred Disposition is requested.
- Municipal Court Home