Driver’s Safety Course
Driver’s Safety Course Requirements and Instructions
Upon court approval to take the course, you will have ninety (90) days to complete and turn in a Driving Safety Course certificate of completion from any Texas approved Defensive Driving class you choose to do and to provide a 3A Certified Driving Record. You may request defensive driving in person, by email, by mail, or you may use the drop box at City Hall after hours, or by email. Before your request is approved, you will need to make sure you have all the correct forms and documents.
Terms of Driver’s Safety Course
- Plea of guilty or no contest and waiver of a jury trial and the right to discovery.
- 90 days to complete a 6-hour Driver’s Safety Course and submit proof of such to the court. Order and submit a 3A Certified copy of your Driving Record.
- Pay required fee of $144 for regular zone violations or $169 for school zone violations.
- You will still have to pay the cost of the defensive driving class and the certified Driving Record
- You are at least 17 years of age
- You must have current liability insurance (with the person who received the citation listed as a driver) and a valid Texas Driver’s License (CDL not eligible)
- You have not taken a DSC with in the last 12 months to dispose of a citation
- You are not charged with speeding in excess of 24 mph over the limit, speeding 95 miles hour or more nor in a construction zone.
- Your request is made within 10 business days of the citation.
Complete Driver’s Safety Course Request:
- The Driver’s Safety Course Affidavit (Affidavit must be signed in front of a notary or court clerk)
- Copy of your valid Texas Driver’s License (CDL not Eligible)
- Copy of your current insurance (with the person who received the citation listed as a driver)
- Payment of $144.00 for regular speeding zones or $169.00 for school zone violations
Failure to Comply with the Terms of the Agreement
If you fail to comply with any of the requirements of the Driver Safety Course option, your case will be set for a Show Cause Hearing. The hearing is your opportunity to speak with the Judge regarding why you failed to comply. If you fail to appear at your hearing, a conviction will be entered
You may obtain your driving record at:
You will need a certified 3A Driving Record
You may search the TDLR website to choose a Texas approved defensive driving class of your choice.
Return your documents to the Court by one of the following methods:
- In person during business hours.
- By mail: New Fairview Municipal Court, 999 Illinois Ln, New Fairview, Texas 76078
- Using the drop box outside the court building after business hours.
- By email
- If these two documents are not filed with the court within ninety (90) days you will be sent a notice to come to a Show Cause Hearing in front of the Judge where you could be responsible for payment of the fine, thereby having the offense reported on your driving record and a warrant may be issued for your arrest
- NO EXTENSIONS WILL BE GRANTED
- Upon completion your violation will be dismissed.